Guide to know what is Utah minimum wage 2023?
State of Utah Utah’s minimum wage is the lowest hourly wage that can be legally paid to an employee. It represents the lowest possible wage. Both the state of Utah and the federal government have established a lawful minimum wage; Utah’s minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, and the federal minimum wage is also $7.25 per hour. The relevant minimum wage, according to federal law, is the one that is higher than the other minimum wages. Read carefully what is Utah minimum wage 2023.
Utah Labor Laws
Utah Minimum Wage Exemptions
Tip workers, high school and college students, and certain disabled employees (with a certificate from the Utah Department of Labor) are exempt from the minimum wage restrictions in Utah and the federal minimum wage. Additional occupations and workers are subject to the regulations.
How much does the minimum wage pay for state of Utah employees?
A full-time worker in Utah earning minimum wage earns $290.00 per week and approximately $15,080.00 per year (based on 8-hour workdays and 260-day work year) prior to deductions for social security and Medicare. The federal poverty limit for a two-person household is determined to be $14,570 per year.
Utah Overtime Wage Law
Therefore, the overtime minimum wage in Utah is $10.88 per hour, as all employees who work more than 40 hours in a single workweek are eligible for 1.5 times their regular hourly wage. In addition, Utah law mandates that any employee who has worked more than eight hours in a single day is entitled to overtime pay.
Data Presented by the Utah Department of Labor
If you believe you are owed back wages for unpaid overtime, if your employer is paying you less than the Utah minimum wage, or if your employer is violating any other state or federal labor law, the Utah Department of Labor is here to help.
Simply contact the local Utah Department of Labor office, and they will advocate on your behalf to ensure that your employer becomes compliant and that you receive any back wages or compensation you may be entitled to. You should ensure that you have recent paystubs, timesheets, employment contracts, and any other documents that may be required when you contact.
Posters of Utah’s Labor Code
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires all businesses in the state of Utah to display the 2023 Utah Minimum Wage poster as well as additional labor law compliance posters in a conspicuous location where all employees can see them, such as a hallway or break room. Additionally, these posters must comply with all applicable labor laws. It is possible to incur a fine for neglecting to display all required labor law posters.
In the near future, will the minimum wage in Utah be increased?
As in a number of other states, there have been numerous discussions in Utah regarding the possibility of progressively increasing the minimum wage over the next seven or so years. There are a few pre-filled proposals, but unfortunately nothing has been officially confirmed and no new legislation is scheduled to be implemented at this time. Several of the invoices have been pre-populated.
The overall strategy calls for an increase in Utah’s minimum wage to $15 per hour over the course of the next seven years. Due to the widespread belief that it is impossible to more than double the state minimum wage in Utah within the next seven years, it is conceivable that Utah workers will not receive a raise for some time.